Home > Economics, Energy, Finance and money > The story behind “Sell Freedom, Buy Control”

The story behind “Sell Freedom, Buy Control”

The way to appreciatie how I arrived at my conception of “Sell Freedom, Buy Control” is to study two things that happened in the early 1970s:

Firstly, in 1971 Nixon closed the Gold Window. The US economy had started to hit certain fiscal limits. The monetary system was trying to tell us that we might be nearing the buffers. The evidence of problems was there for all to see.

Secondly, the book “Limits to growth” was published in 1972. It told of the dangers of presuming infinite growth in a finite world. It sold millions of copies and had the potential to shape both policy and expectations of people in the developed world. What ever happened to those concerns about our limitations?

The backlash was formidable. The extent of propaganda aimed at demolishing the idea of resource limits was matched by the sheer extent of economic manipulation to support a more upbeat narrative.

The US subsequently embarked on a re-structuring that essentially involved it extracting tribute from the rest of the world (rather than growing benignly / organically). Tying in Western Europe and Japan to a fiat money mirage kept the illusion going. It bought 30-40 years of apparent peace and stability. It also provided the basis for a fundamental re-structuring of wealth and class relations; all operating covertly.

Since 2007 the house of cards is starting to topple; meanwhile the bilking of the system is just becoming more overt, if you just know how to look for it.

David Harvey’s “A brief history of Neoliberalism” is a great primer on the economic & social warfare aspect of the current crisis, showing how the 70s marked a turning point

David Strahan’s “Last Oil Shock” covers the resource issues and the extent of insider / political manipulation that has been happening for the last 30-40 years to hide the impending problems from the public.

Taken together a credible narrative of our times unfolds.

For a more jovial (but no less powerful) summary, Rob Newman’s History of Oil is a truly eye-opening account of the 20th Century, and what may be in-store for the near future:

This is the story of our times. But it is one that the media refuses to tell.

  1. December 22, 2013 at 1:57 am

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  2. March 26, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    Hi great blog! Does running a blog such as this
    require a lot of work? I’ve virtually no knowledge of programming but I
    was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please
    share. I understand this is off subject but I just needed to ask.

    Thanks!

  3. April 14, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you, However I am going through troubles
    with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I cannot join it.
    Is there anyone else having the same RSS issues?
    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond?

    Thanx!!

  4. April 14, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Howdy! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you have got right here on this post.
    I’ll be coming back to your site for more soon.

  5. May 16, 2014 at 12:58 am

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily,
    this website is in fact fastidious and the viewers are really sharing nice thoughts.

  6. July 1, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    It is perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s
    time to be happy. I’ve learn this submit and if I could I want to recommend you some
    fascinating things or tips. Maybe you can write
    next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more issues about it!

  7. July 1, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so
    much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the
    message home a bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog.
    A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  8. July 3, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am really impressed to read
    everthing at single place.

  9. July 4, 2014 at 12:14 am

    My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type
    on a variety of websites for about a year
    and am worried about switching to another platform.

    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way
    I can import all my wordpress posts into
    it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  10. July 8, 2014 at 9:16 am

    I am truly happy to glance at this website posts which includes tons of useful facts,
    thanks for providing these data.

  11. July 9, 2014 at 2:07 am

    We’re a gaggle of volunteers and starting a
    new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with useful info to work on.
    You’ve done an impressive activity and our whole community can be
    thankful to you.

  12. July 11, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    I am now not certain where you are getting your information, however
    good topic. I must spend a while finding out more or working out more.
    Thanks for fantastic information I used to be on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  13. July 12, 2014 at 6:01 am

    It’s fantastic that you are getting thoughts from this paragraph as well as from our discussion made here.

  14. July 12, 2014 at 6:11 am

    Just want to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is just nice and i could assume you are an expert on this
    subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed
    to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a
    million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  15. July 19, 2014 at 2:08 am

    Hello to every one, the contents existing at this site are in fact awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  16. July 23, 2014 at 1:50 am

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  17. July 23, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s articles or reviews all the time along with a cup of
    coffee.

  18. July 24, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative.

    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  19. July 27, 2014 at 3:18 am

    Hello, this weekend is nice in favor of me, because this time
    i am reading this great informative piece of writing here at my residence.

  20. July 28, 2014 at 8:16 am

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely great. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really
    like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it
    wise. I can not wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a wonderful website.

  21. July 29, 2014 at 8:02 am

    You are so interesting! I do not suppose I’ve read something like that before.
    So great to find somebody with some original thoughts on this topic.
    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s
    needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

  22. July 30, 2014 at 3:41 am

    What’s up mates, its enormous post on the topic of tutoringand completely defined, keep
    it up all the time.

  23. July 30, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a stuff! existing here at this blog,
    thanks admin of this site.

  24. July 30, 2014 at 7:42 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking
    at your web page repeatedly.

  25. August 4, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    This page truly has all the info I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  26. August 4, 2014 at 9:23 pm

    Hi there to every one, the contents present at this web page are
    really remarkable for people experience, well, keep
    up the nice work fellows.

  27. August 20, 2014 at 3:33 am

    Very nice post. I absolutely love this website.
    Keep it up!

  28. August 20, 2014 at 4:15 am

    If you want to obtain much from this piece of writing then you have to apply these strategies to your won web site.

  29. August 22, 2014 at 1:27 am

    Attractive portion of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say that I get actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I success you get admission to constantly fast.

  30. August 24, 2014 at 7:39 am

    Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate
    your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel
    free to shoot me an email.

  31. August 29, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Hi I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a
    incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the
    moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  32. August 29, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    No matter if some one searches for his necessary thing, therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail, thus that
    thing is maintained over here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

